New Year’s Resolutions- Pftttt.

Because nobody actually takes them seriously. And for those who do, I apologize, but life’s too crazy and realistic sometimes to be able to achieve your goals in that year. For those who were able to achieve them constantly, I applaud you, and ask you to contact me to share your secret.

I don’t think I’ve ever actually had a NYR. Sure I’d list some random things when people ask me but I don’t take it seriously. Why should I? You can’t anticipate what life has in store for you for the next year even if your goals ARE realistic and doable. I believe that you need to face things head on, good or bad. The more you set goals, and the more you’re unable to fulfill them, the more shitty you feel about yourself. This isn’t to say to lower your standards; I’m stating it seems more reasonable to accept the things life throws at you instead of trying to force your way into something life thinks you’re not ready for. I’m all about tolerating and accepting- and while some of you may totally disagree, which is fine, it has definitely helped me with my way of life. Tolerating other people’s quirks, and accepting the fact that some people will never change has minimized the amount of disappointment in my life. Yes to some of you this probably sounds super depressing. I’m here to say otherwise- I would probably be a LOT more depressed if I didn’t do these things. I have learned that tolerance helps control your emotions, and lets you see the reason behind a lot of actions. Accepting is harder. Accepting means you see their point of view as well and share it. And even though you may not act on it, accepting something inside is already one step closer to happiness.

So why make new resolutions every new year? I just have the same ones every year: achieve happiness.

Leave a Reply

