money, health, gut; compassion, sympathy, wisdom from the ages.

Daily Prompt: 3 things I believe to be true, 3 things I believe to be false.

I meant for this to be done yesterday but it slipped my mind. I’ll finish it now.

Truths

#1: Money. you cannot do anything without it. you simply cannot, at least not where I live. Assuming those who are from an average family- money is extremely powerful and it will either make you rise or fall. All it takes is to know that it is important. Jealous of that man’s fitted suit? Jealous of people that go on vacations every other month? Jealous of that beautiful diamond ring? Now, I know there are many people who fall under misfortune’s hands and become jobless, homeless. This is not to spite them. This is a truth that matters to me- and money, matters where I come from.

#2: Health. you cannot do anything without it either. you simply cannot.

#3: Gut. everyone says to trust your gut. the feeling you get. intuition, basically. What does your gut tell you? It tells me that I should make the decision that will benefit me. Ever had the fight between head and heart? Your gut is the mediator.

Lies

#1: Compassion. i find it very difficult to find real compassion in people. sure, there are those who really do try to share the pains of others but in most cases, they do it for show, not real compassion. image. status. real compassion is powerful- which is such a shame that they aren’t a common trait in people. in this world it’s one for yourself.

#2: Sympathy. this is different from compassion. sympathy is just a feeling- the common words of : ‘oh, i’m so sorry’. i’m so sorry. did you feel that? not that you would know whether i meant it or not.

#3: Wisdom (from the ages). this is actually a funny case, and i probably brought this up because of my father. my father was from the 40’s.. yes, he’s quite old. and everytime we argue, whether it is relevant or not, he would always say: i know better than you. you still have a long way to go in life. And it bugs me- do you really know better than me? does your experience equate to my experience? it’s almost the same as me telling the rest of you that your first relationship will never work out at the age of 16, because mine didn’t. well hell, my uncle and aunt had been childhood friends-turned lovers and a married couple for almost 70 years.

 

so there are my heart’s truths and lies. there is no right or wrong, just a few things that stand out for me personally. don’t get me wrong, i’m not a debbie downer or a depressed masochist (despite my blog focusing on relationship problems), i’m just a girl whose eyes have been opened a little wider than usual (yes, i have big eyes).

Leave a Reply

